Writing What You Think Isn’t The Same As Thinking What You Write

To Curious Eyes:

Writing what you think isn’t the same as thinking what you write. (You might have to reread this a couple of times….)

Recently, I find myself thinking to myself about what I am going to write instead of just writing down what I am thinking. Is this writer’s block? I would hardly call myself a writer though.

These days, most of my writing has been for school related assignments. Writing for school is extremely different from my kind of writing. It’s more concise, informative, and more formal. It’s kind of like getting information and then spitting it right back out.

Numerous written assignments, essays, and speeches, have gotten me to a point where I feel incapable of writing for myself, and I am frankly just tired. This is how I feel right now.

For me, finding words to describe the way I feel would be fun. But these days, it resembles feelings of torture. Okay, maybe that was a tad bit dramatic, but you get the point.

Please feel free to give me advice to get out of this. It will be much appreciated.

-Noor

I am Perfect. Ha, if only.

 

One response to “Writing What You Think Isn’t The Same As Thinking What You Write

  1. Its a type of writer’s block. Unless you wish to only see writing as a chore rather than recreation, i suggest that you pull back a bit and relax. Do something that inspires you: watch a movie on an interesting topic; read a book, etc. And then, write when you’re definately in the mood.

Leave a comment